Senseless Ramblings

There's so much running through my mind at any given time- this blog is an attempt to sort things out :)

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Fireflies

Just a quick post..

I'll spend entirely way too many hours in the car this summer. Just one of the perks of accompanying Matt on his professional lacrosse career.

Anyways, after spending about 20 hours in the car over Memorial Day weekend- I was gazing out the window at the darkness. I started to see little flashes of light. I got really excited because growing up I rarely saw fireflies- must just be the whole "city lights" aspect of living here in NY.  As the little flashes of lights zoomed past my window, I was flooded with the memory of traveling home with my family years ago.

Eb was sleeping in his car seat next to me, and I was barely able to look out the back window. Suddenly Dad started to slow the car within in shoulder. He got out of the car, opened my door and helped me unbuckle my seat belt. He picked me up and sat me on the trunk of the car and didn't say a word.  Before us was a dark open field, with a million little flashes of lights. I don't remember if anything was said- but after a few minutes, he picked me up and put me back into the car. And we drove off.

I was thinking to myself, that when I eventually have a house- I want it to be set back from the city. I want to be able to sit on my back porch, listening to the sounds of crickets and watching for fireflies.

I don't know how long I was gazing out the window- but Matt said something to me (probably asking me who sang a particular song that was playing from his Iphone) and I returned my focus to watching the out of the front windshield.  My mind started to flow back to those fireflies, when all of a sudden there was a SPLAT.



 A firefly hit the windshield. Sad day! I tried to capture the glow of the luciferin- but couldn't focus the camera before the glow diminished.

I'm now in the process of mourning the death of the firefly.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Day 4



I am soo looking forward to today's P90x yoga. I'm only on day 4, but I have never been this sore in my life! Plyometrics was day 2 and was extremely difficult- I tried my hardest but only did about half of the exercises! Matt even said it was hard.. he did about 70%  It got to the point where we needed to stop and mop up the sweat off the hardwood floor- potential slippage hazard! Gross!!

I've spent all morning in a hot hot kitchen- trying to pop out as many baked goods as I could before I passed out of heat exhaustion. Matt and I are leaving tomorrow for Baltimore, MD for the Final Four. Sad day that SU and Cortland aren't going to be there- so I've decided root for either Cornell or Duke or Notre Dame... haha any team but UVA. I would like to see a team that hasn't won it before- but I still can't get myself to root for UVA, I just can't do it. Nope!

Sunday, we'll be making a day trip to Pittsburgh for Matt's Bayhawks game.  They are currently 2-0, and Matt's been racking up more points with each game! It's fantastic to see him back on the field- a winter full of box lacrosse just didn't seem to allow him to excel like the athlete he was in college. Granted, he didn't play very many box games- but the hockey feel of the game doesn't make it feel like true lacrosse. Oh field lacrosse!! How I've missed thee!

I'm super excited about this summer's plans regarding Matt's lacrosse. Summer league is starting up soon, so he'll have games Monday and Wednesday evenings.  We are gone most weekends (Wow! all but one!) for the Bayhawks, and Matt's got a lot of traveling to do as a Team USA alternate. *Hopefully* we will find out soon if they plan on traveling Matt to England for the World Games- I've got to have time to scrounge up money for travel! Matt was also presented with an opportunity to "host" his own lacrosse camp. It was cutely entitled, "The Matt Abbott Extreme Midfield Camp." Precious! I can't wait to see how he deals with 100 younger boys who look up to him and want to soak up all the lacrosse knowledge he'll provide.


I'm thinking it's about time to get my last batch of cookies out of the oven! I'll be back Monday, but I wanted to wish everyone a safe and relaxing Memorial Day Weekend! Enjoy!

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Best Summers of My Life

With finals being a thing of the past, graduation come and gone, professors finally submitting semester grades- my heart is breaking.

This is the first summer, after 8 years straight, that I won't be life guarding.

I've seen a lot in my years at the local JCC- been through 4 head life guards and 3 director changes, but one thing always stayed the same. My little pool.

Since I wasn't WSI certified (therefore not getting the 25 cent raise), I always felt more comfortable with the little ones. We learned how to blow bubbles, scoop ice cream and there was the occasional dunking of unsuspecting children who were unaware that putting their face in the water wouldn't hurt.

There was always immense satisfaction in being one of the first to get the kids into the water. With a 2 ft pool around the sides, and depth of 3 ft in the center (side note: I'd like to have a word or two with who ever designed that pool.. they obviously don't know that children gravitate towards the middle, especially on an incline! Also- they have obviously never spent a substantial amount of time trying to tell little ones that they need hold onto the wall of the pool- or they will DIEEE!! Okay, maybe not die, but they will be terrified of the water if they go under for any short amount of time without being held onto.), I've had my fair share of jumping in to pull out those wide eyed, more than courageous and less than skilled swimmers.

The JCC runs a summer day camp, with new mini-camps each week. So each week, we have a few new campers, but mostly it's the regulars that show up. And by regulars- I mean the kids that I use to have in the little pool, that are now 8 years older and are doing dives and learning "rescues" in the deep end!- Oh I feel old!!

But the greatest joy and satisfaction of life guarding came during my last week of working camp....ever. It was also the one week that we the lifeguards made up our own daily theme!

I first noticed Shabat, during level testing that occurred every Monday of a new camp week. Each week we test new campers, as well as re-evaluate the returnee's (look at me- like I ever got in the big pool to test these kids!) and see where they placed within the pool's sectioned off areas.

My little swimmers consisted of about 5 groups that came to swim starting at 9:30 am, with the babies! Like in swim diapers babies! The next group were a bit older, and the last two groups were the oldest- maybe 5-ish? But this particular week, the babies didn't come because Mr. Music Man (uh- you'd think I would be able to remember his name!) came to sing for the little tykes. So there wasn't anyone coming to the little pool for the first couple of sessions, so I was just watching the big pool testing.

Back to Shabat- the boy would not even leave the steps. The lifeguard in the pool was able to coax him to hold her hands and come off the steps to see if he was tall enough to stand in the shallowest section (yellow wrist bands only please!). He was able to stand, but promptly returned to the steps once lessons started. He wasn't overly excited to be taken out by the lifeguard during the lesson portion, just moving through the directions. If he was skipped over, he'd just fade into the background- playfully dragging his hands through the water. The half hour swim lesson quickly ended, and the kids headed back inside to change.

All the campers return later in the day for free swim, which by that time us lifeguards begin rotation for actual guarding. I had made it to the shallow end, and watched Shabat as he played around with some friends- obviously more comfortable just standing. One friend went past the rope line, into the orange section (with an orange wrist band) while Shabat just stood next to the rope. His friend asked him why he didn't have an orange band, to which he replied, "because I don't know how to swim."  To watch his whole group of friends move into the orange section to swim and leave Shabat by the rope to watch- just broke my heart.  I called him over, and he waded over- probably thinking that he did something wrong.  I asked him to look at the clock behind me, to let me know how much longer free swim was going for.  He told me the time, and I asked him if he'd like me to get in the pool with him once I finished rotations, just to work on some swimming techniques. He looked at me- wide eyed- and smiled.

Once I was done with rotation, I grabbed a few (okay, all 9 of them) swim noodles and my goggles. I told Shabat that I only had about 15 minutes before I had to get out and head back for rotations. I told him that I wanted to see some of his swimming strokes, and when he gave me a puzzled look, I proceeded to grab his arms to take him around the pool.  He wasn't getting the floating concept so I propped all 9 noodles under his arms to show him that they would hold him up.  He smiled as his legs began to float, and asked that I not let go of his hands. We waded around the shallow end until it was time for my rotation.

I went through rotation, and watched as Shabat got more comfortable with floating. One by one he would remove the noodles, until he got down to 3. That was when he realized more of his body was horizontal in the water, and just about time when free swim was over. He hopped out of the pool, grabbed all the noodles, put them back in the equipment closet, grabbed his towel and came over to me. He handed me my goggles (which were bright pink!), smiled and gave me a hug. He whispered, "thanks" and turned to head inside. That is pretty much about time that I totally teared up.

Tuesday was a whole new day- and Shabat asked if he could use the noodles for lessons. I told him that I had to be in the little pool, but that who ever was teaching that day would take great care of him. Who ever was teaching lessons that day, let him use the noodles whenever he was brought off the step. Long gone was the kid from yesterday, who didn't seem to mind when he was looked over for one on one time with the guard. He always waited patiently with his hand in the air to show that he hadn't had a turn yet, with a smile on his face.

Free swim, I hopped back into the pool during my time off of rotation and got Shabat down to 1 noodle. About 5 minutes after that, I got him a kick board. Kick boards are a bit harder to balance, but once Shabat realized that it was okay to set his feet down- he quickly got the hang of it. Again, free swim time was up, Shabat returned everything he was using, grabbed his towel, returned my goggles and gave me a big hug. This time after the thanks, he said, "I can't wait to tell my mom- she isn't going to believe that I'm not afraid of the water anymore."  For a kid who was "afraid" of the water- he was doing one heck of a job learning!

Wednesday is probably one of the hardest days to work- since it's smack dab in the middle of the week. Shabat was excited for lessons, and even wandered off the steps by himself- which he was promptly told that he needed to wait on the steps until a lifeguard was with him, and he did- smiling the whole time.
Free swim rolled around, and Scott (head lifeguard) told me that he'd take my first rotation, allowing me to get in the water with him. I wanted to push my luck, so I told Shabat that we were going to put our face in the water. He looked at me suspiciously until I explained that it was super easy, and super fun. He seemed concerned, but I made it easy by showing him that you first dip your chin, then mouth, then your nose, and finally your eyes. He slipped a bit, and his whole head went under. He quickly popped himself back up, and looked at me. I asked what he was thinking, and he said that he liked it! I told him that if he puts the goggles on his eyes (rather than wearing them on his forehead) he'd be able to look under water. Needless to stay, he spent the rest of the free swim, underwater. He also lost the kick board, and started to use his arms.

By Thursday- he was swimming on his own. I nearly burst into tears (both happy and sad) when he showed me that he could swim on his own, and told me that he didn't need me to come in during free swim and to "enjoy" my break between rotations. He was a very intuitive 10 year old.

Friday was my very last day- to which the theme was "Alida Appreciation Day."  Shabat swam around, grinning ear to ear. I told him that if he wanted to stop getting water in his mouth, then he needed to stop smiling underwater. It was just so wonderful to watch him swim around on his own. Something it takes years for kids to learn, he learned in a matter of days. Free swim ended, and he asked for one last hug. I just had to have it documented:
Knowing that I was able to make a small difference in his summer, maybe even his life, is something I'll never forget- even if he doesn't remember it. But.. I have a sneaking suspicion this isn't something he'll soon forget.

Not only will I miss the kids that I worked with everyday, but I'll also miss my co-workers. They were the ones that made it easier to have to bundle up in sweats to watch the older ladies swim in the morning, block out the droning of techno music during morning aquatics, and deal with unruly and obnoxious patrons/children/staff. Not to mention, the life guarding parties we had reigned supreme!

These girls were the ones who stuck by me in everything- from swim lesson formations, the occasional disagreements and the unpredictable Upstate weather (and who also didn't mind when the heat was jacked up to 85 degrees)- my baby pool girls <3

Guess it's funny how things work out and how it's the little things that I remember- this coming from the girl who at age 6, didn't put more than her feet into the pool until the very last day of swim lessons. :-)

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Current Desires

I figured that while pulling a double in the dungeon, I might as well blog about my current desires- wants & needs.

As much as I like my hair longer- I am so much happier when it's shorter. I've made an "agreement" with Matt (my hair has to be long enough to curl and pull back into my jr.prom look for the future wedding), so I plan on cutting it. I really want to go back to this:



So hopefully I can get into Joanna's soon to get that done!
But here's my dilemma, do I cut bangs back in? During the summer bangs get hot and sticky and I usually end up pinning them up. I like bangs only when I have time to style them- which always takes more effort then I want to put in. So I am thinking that something like this will be the answer to all my problems!

You take this:


And end with this!!



Now- to convince matt that it's something I need.. this will be task in itself.


Next stop: Clothing. Oh clothing.. what a wonderful thing you are!!

First is something that Cadie posted on Twitter, and I am totally in love with! I am hoping that I can find a pattern to make one myself- but am totally willing to get something custom made!




But it's the back that totally has me hooked!

Loving the work by vivat veritas! fantastic!!


And I am currently loving this Romper from Victoria's Secret: But Rompers fit me funny..




I'm not one to wear watches, but I saw this when I was in The City a couple weekends ago, and really liked it! RumbaTime is super fun!


Finally.. shoes.. ahh shoes! I am a sucker for fancy footwear!

Totally stole this, again from Cadie, but these Seychelles Blimeys are super cute! May be a bit outta my price range- but I can obsess nonetheless!



Next up we have these super cute heels.. oh!! Love them Jeffery Campbell!!

May not be as sensible now, but really cute!

Finally.. I love these boots! Matt and I have had long debates about these boots.. but once I *hopefully* complete P90X, these will look adorable!

I'm a sucker for the leopard print tights too!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Summer 2010

So before I start rambling on about my plans for the summer- let me just vent.

- I am terrified of next semester. I am still missing one course to fulfill my three course requirement to be a full time graduate student. The courses online, even now, aren't set in stone. Namely, the department (or lack there of) is going down hill. Has been since I graduated last May. But, in the scope of things- this past semester was my best semester of my career. yup yup!


Onto bigger and better things- the summer! 'Cept it's certainly not feeling like summer at all- where is that big ball of heat that blinds me? you know- the thing that is suppose to be out during the summer months- but I rarely ever see?? oh well!

To start off things- this summer I plan on making a quilt! Not that I really need any more blankets, and I'm pretty much taking the easy way out: it'll be made out of t-shirts! I'll be able to keep all those shirts that have some sort of memory associated with it, and those that just don't fit anymore! And I get to clean out my closet while doing it? Heck ya!

- I've been lifeguarding at the J for the past seven summers of my life and I have finally decided to "grow up" and not go back. The up side- I have more time to do what I want: The down side- I have more time to do what I want. Plus I told my parents I would clean and organize their house... should have stuck my foot in my mouth!

- So with this new "free" time, I plan on doing a ton of cleaning & organizing, as well as a lot of traveling! I'm gone most weekends- following Matt around with his professional lacrosse teams. Maybe I'll blog a bit more about Matt & lacrosse tomorrow, but leave this link as a teaser (enjoy!)

Also need to find time to visit Cadie, attempt p90x, and plan and start up my "business." I do enjoy that I listed those in order of most achievable, with a LARGE jump between the first and second! ha!

So this is the bridge?

Yes, if all my friends jumped off a bridge- I would too. And since most of my friends have taken to the blog world- I might as well join in.

I can't promise that this will be a world changing blog- or even remotely interesting at all. But I can promise you one thing- it'll be the truth.

I'm sure I'll be all over when it comes to blogging- anything from failed attempts in the kitchen, to clothing I desperately want, to trying to sort through the chaos and unknown that is my future, to starting my own business and probably including a lot about lacrosse.

Trying to title this blog seemed impossible- again with the millions of thoughts running through my mind. So I took to iTunes. Gave my self 3 random shuffles and came across Missy Higgins "Scar." Did a quick search of the lyrics, and came across "I thought 'this one knows better than I do'"- ha! Didn't take to long to find it- it's the last line of the first verse. Seemed appropriate- that and I was too lazy to try to sort through any other songs.

Well- I'm off to collect my thoughts, transfer my clean but soaking wet slippers to the dryer, dive into the Chicken-n-Orzo salad I made yesterday and attempt to figure out a way to keep Murphy from rattling my wooden blinds-